Double Take a Chocolate Cake

I’ve never really baked much with chocolate before, so having some family over for dinner this weekend was a good excuse to finally try it. With a couple of substitutions, I used this best birthday cake and chocolate sour cream frosting recipe from Smitten Kitchen that my wife had used for my birthday last year.

Double Chocolate Cake

Serve a la mode.

To get the cake chocolate, I swapped 1/2 cup of the flour for 1/2 cup of cocoa powder. I did not have buttermilk as the recipe asks, and also did not have the plain yogurt that The Joy of Cooking suggested as a substitution, so I ended up using 1/2 & 1/2 since that is what I had on hand. I also did not have corn syrup on hand, but as advised by the Joy, I made a solution of 1/8 cup water and 1/2 cup sugar. The results were very positive, but this experiment will have to be repeated for verification.

Best paired with vanilla ice cream, coffee with Bailey’s or a dark, stout ale.

About Mike Ward

Connecting the digital to the local - website management, social media and event promotion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Double Take a Chocolate Cake

  1. whatsaysyou says:

    My mouth is watering now after reading about chocolate cake on your post 🙂

Leave a Reply

